Miss N

It’s Okay to be Human.

Today is Thursday, ICYMI.

(This is part of my “Entertainment During a Time of Coronavirus” Newsletter series, which you can sign up for here.)

Here, we are, Day #234 of this whole thing. My home country, South Africa, joins many other parts of the world and us here in New York, in lockdown /quarantine/ isolation/shelter-in-place, as of midnight tonight. While we here in New York have been allowed to go out for walks and run (and some people continue to play basketball), their lockdown will not allow for that. But doing it full-on is the way it will work, according to everything I’ve read from Italy, South Korea and China. The more consistent the approach to tackle the Coronavirus, the more likely it will work. I know there are factors that don’t make it easy for everyone to shutdown but we’re living through unprecedented times and if each country could learn from the other, “flattening the curve” could be the next big, necessary, worldwide hit.

I’d like to include more events from Africa for this list, so if you have any suggestions, please do send along. I’m hoping to make this a global thing of joy in these terrible times. Here, then, is today’s list of entertainment options for this ghastly time:

1. Global Citizen’s #TogetheratHome series continues with another packed line-up today – Kygo at 11am PST/2pm EST, Jon Batiste at 2pm PST/5pm EST, Ty Dolla Sign at 3pm PST/ 6pm EST. But my pick for music would be the Ladysmith Black Mambazo concert that will be broadcast on KCRW, which was recorded on March 16, when the group performed in LA at CAP-UCLA. 9pm PST, 12am EST, 6am CAT.

2. Following a decades-long residency at Joe’s Pub, Justin Vivian Bond is hosting Auntie Glam’s cabaret ‘I Hate The Spring’ Happy Hour! — live-screaming from the “House of Whimsy” in upstate New York — at 2pm PST/ 5pm ET / 9pm GMT. V encourages you to mix yourself a cocktail or a mocktail, play dress up at home and join in the fun. Thanks to The Queer Review for this tip.

3. Meanwhile Canada-based actress Rebecca Perry is doing a condensed, ‘intimate fireside edition’ of her solo show, From Judy to Bette: The Stars of Old Hollywoodon YouTube Live, at 6:30pm EST / 3:30pm PT / 10:30pm GMT.

4. It may not be everyone’s cuppa tea, but Miley Cyrus has been hosting a daily live talkshow on her IG, between 11:30 PST/ 2:30 EST/ 6:30pm GMT, with guests like Ellen DeGeneres, Rickey Thompson (oh my gawd!) and Reese Witherspoon. Today she’ll have Antoni from Queer Eye, Mark Ronson and Ryan Tedder.

5. The Seattle Symphony is playing its part in sharing performances that provide strength, comfort and joy. Today, at 7:30pm PST/ 10:30pm EST / 2:30am GMT (for you insomniacs) Dvořák Symphony No. 8 is on the menu.

Thank you for reading.

Until tomorrow, I’ll leave you with the musings of Marc Foster, from Foster the People, and his new song, It’s Okay to Be Human.

24 comments

  1. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be
    thankful to you.

  2. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  3. Good day very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent ..
    Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds
    additionally? I am glad to search out so many useful info here in the publish,
    we want work out more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  4. We are a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You have performed an impressive job and our whole group
    shall be grateful to you.

  5. Thank you for any other excellent post. Where else may
    just anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal way of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the search for such info.

  6. Hello are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any coding expertise to
    make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  7. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment.

    There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?
    Kudos!

  8. I enjoy, lead to I found exactly what I was looking for. You
    have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.
    Bye

  9. Definitely imagine that which you stated. Your favourite
    reason seemed to be at the web the easiest thing to remember of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as people think about issues that they plainly don’t understand about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out
    the entire thing without having side effect , other people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  10. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A great read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  11. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all
    webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will
    be much more useful than ever before.

  12. Hey are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do
    you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  13. Hi Dear, are you genuinely visiting this web page regularly,
    if so then you will definitely take pleasant experience.
    asmr 0mniartist

  14. I’m extremely inspired together with your writing skills as smartly as with the format to your weblog.
    Is this a paid topic or did you customize it
    yourself? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is
    uncommon to see a great blog like this one nowadays..
    0mniartist asmr

  15. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually bought me dinner simply because I found it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this issue here on your internet site.

    asmr 0mniartist

  16. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to
    and you’re just too wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.

    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a wonderful site. asmr 0mniartist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.