Miss N

Hope is a Discipline.

Joy, a decision.

(This is part of my “Entertainment During a Time of Coronavirus” Newsletter series, which you can sign up for here.)

It seems like years since it happened, but just a few months ago, I travelled to Brazil for the first time. I landed in Rio and there were army tanks at the airport and the Uber driver wasn’t coming and I couldn’t speak Portuguese and it was late at night, and then I met a young woman who co-ordinated the pickup with the driver, taught me a few local words and shared the ride into Ipanema with me. Since then, I’ve followed Beatriz Pessoa and her beautiful voice on Instagram. She’s currently on lockdown with her musician roommates and I tell you, watching their impromptu, DIY music videos has been one of my favourite things right now.

This weekend, the first major benefit concert to provide relief and support for those affected by Covid-19 is happening, hosted by Elton John. It’s taking place on Sunday night, when the iHeart Radio Music Awards were meant to take place. Alicia Keys, Backstreet Boys, Billie Eilish, Billie Joe Armstrong, Mariah Carey, Tim McGraw and others will perform from their own homes, using their personal video and audio equipment, to ensure the health and safety of others.

To add to that, here’s is this weekend’s list of events happening online so you can #StayHome:

1. New York institution Marie’s Crisis has been doing a nightly livestream so the show-tunes can keep on a rollin’ through all the anxiety and stress. You can join the private FB group and fire up the Venmo in place of the glass tip jar that sits atop the piano in the West Village bar. (Thanks again to The Queer Review for this tip!)

2. Beatport will launch a 24-hour Twitch live stream show today at 1pm PST/4pm EST/8pm GMT, featuring the world’s biggest dance acts, from Carl Cox to Bonobo, A-Trak and Rüfüs Du Sol. In between dancing, you can drop some dollars into the COVID-19 Hardship Fund benefitting members of the Association for Electronic Music.

3. My favourite banjo-player (um, the only banjo-player I really know) Bela Fleck is rolling out a “Lockdown Livestream” with Abigail Washburn, every Friday through April 10 at 7pm EST/10pm PST/11pm GMT via Facebook Live. Today he’ll highlight the release of his new album with kora master Toumani Diabate.  

4. This isn’t a live event, but for the film fans among us, it’s good to see Mailchimp and Oscilloscope teaming up to present the SXSW 2020 Official Short Film selection. It’s a great way to still support those filmmakers who were going to present their work at SXSW and lost out on that experience when the City of Austin had to cancel this year’s fest.

5. John Cameron Mitchell is doing a once-off livestream show dubbed COVIDivinations for Digital Dragfest today from 6-6:30pm PST/ 9-9:30pm EST/1:30am GMT. He’s promising songs from his mountain abode and personal readings using Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass ‘as a divination tool to burn away fear and focus on the goodness of now.’

** Also, a few non-entertainment-but-still-good-things-happening: Former CNN anchor Isha Sesay has started a daily digital show, Home with Isha Sesay, 11am PST/2pm EST/6pm GMT with an African focus on current events, Priya Parker is hosting a TED Connects IG Live today on ‘how to create meaningful connections while apart,’ at 9am PST/12pm EST/4pm GMT and then on Sunday, Deepak Chopra comes out of a week of silence to lead a live mantra-based global meditation, beginning at 9am PST/12pm EST/4pm GMT.  

And one more bonus suggestion – I have a Netflix recommendation for you. It’s called Crip Camp: A Disability Revolution. Below is my #ReviewOnTheRun of why you should pop it into your queue.

19 comments

  1. After looking at a few of the blog posts on your blog, I truly appreciate your way of writing a blog.

    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too
    and let me know your opinion.

  2. If some one needs to be updated with most
    recent technologies therefore he must be pay a quick
    visit this site and be up to date all the time.

  3. I think this is among the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general
    things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really great : D.

    Good job, cheers

  4. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.

    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back
    at some point. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice day!

  5. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It
    positively helpful and it has helped me out
    loads. I hope to give a contribution & aid other
    users like its helped me. Good job.

  6. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  7. It is the best time to make some plans for the longer
    term and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if I could I desire to suggest
    you some fascinating things or tips. Perhaps you can write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I wish to learn even more issues approximately it!
    games ps4 185413490784 games ps4

  8. You really make it appear really easy with your presentation but
    I find this topic to be actually one thing which I feel
    I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex
    and extremely large for me. I am taking a look forward for your subsequent put up, I will
    attempt to get the dangle of it!

  9. I think that everything published made a ton of sense.
    However, what about this? suppose you composed a catchier post title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t good, however suppose
    you added something that makes people want more? I mean Hope is a Discipline.
    is a little vanilla. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s home page and
    see how they create post headlines to get viewers to open the links.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two to get people
    interested about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it could
    make your posts a little livelier.

  10. Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!

    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the outstanding work!

  11. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this site needs far more attention. I’ll probably
    be returning to read more, thanks for the advice!
    asmr 0mniartist

  12. Wonderful article! This is the type of info that are
    supposed to be shared across the web. Disgrace on Google
    for now not positioning this publish higher!
    Come on over and discuss with my website . Thanks =) asmr 0mniartist

  13. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this post
    is awesome, great written and come with approximately all significant infos.
    I would like to look more posts like this .

    asmr 0mniartist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.